An Insider's Look at Mormon Culture

I love to cook, but quit baking several years ago when my cholesterol level peaked. If I were the kind of person who can bake and freeze or bake and just eat one, I wouldn’t have to limit baking to times when I’m expecting company. On a lovely fall afternoon, I had a craving for gingerbread, so I invited my daughter and son-in-law for dessert. I have a wonderful recipe for gingerbread that is a relatively easy and tastes like fall—rich and spicy.

This is Lynne Rossetto Kasper’s recipe from her NPR show, “The Splendid Table.”   Lynne’s directions are more precise than mine, so try her website  if you want perfection. But my slapdash method produces a beautiful tall, fluffy cake which satisfies our taste buds.

Lynne’s Dark and Moist Gingerbread

In a small bowl, mix together: 2 cups, less 2 TB white flour,  1 heaping tsp. baking soda, 1 TB ground ginger, ½ tsp. salt,  ¾ tsp. cinnamon, ¼ tsp. ground cloves,  1/8 tsp. black pepper

In a larger bowl combine:  6 TB melted butter, ¾ C very hot water, ¾ C dark molasses, 1/3 C dark brown sugar, 2 tsp. grated fresh ginger

Beat thoroughly, add 1 egg, beat well.

Add liquid to dry ingredients. Mix only until blended. Pour into greased, floured 9 inch pan. Bake at 350 for 35 – 40 minutes.

I’m truly grateful that  modern recipes no longer ask us to sift flour, then add other dry ingredients and sift together. Lynne’s recipe calls for unsalted butter. Not being a purist, I use regular butter and add a scant half tsp. of salt. The truly health conscious could probably use canola oil instead of butter and serve without the whipped cream. Ginger has anti-inflammatory properties which help keep the arteries open; maybe the large amount of ginger in this recipe cancels out some of the butter–and the whipped cream on top. At leasts I hope so.

Bon appétit!

Comments on: "Gingerbread–Scent of Autumn" (2)

  1. I listen to the splendid table also.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud