An Insider's Look at Mormon Culture

Skipping Black Friday

  I’ve already blogged about how much I hate Christmas shopping. This post is to brag that my shopping is completed—and most of the gifts wrapped. Instead of feeling elated, I have this nagging feeling that I’ve forgotten somebody—and twice I’ve remembered who. I really should have made a master list of gifts and giftees as I wrapped. Trusting to memory will likely prove embarrassing to me and disappointing to a near and dear one.

This year we’ll be spending the holidays with our sons in Seattle—and some of that time, I suspect, will be with their extended family. Will we be exchanging gifts with their in-laws? Should I bring something for them? What? Of course it would do no good to ask our sons. Men just don’t get things like reciprocal gift-giving. Testosterone must be a real blessing.

Not spending Christmas at home this year raises the question of tree or no tree. My first impulse was to just buy a couple of poinsettias and call it good. It’s not that I’m a Grinch or anything. I actually like Christmas. What I don’t like is decorating. I must have been distracted when some of the feminine genes were passed around. Although I received enough femininity to bear five children and nurture them adequately enough for all to attain adulthood, I really lost out on important feminine traits like sewing, enjoying handicrafts, and creating artistic holiday displays.

I think I can get around putting up the decorations this year by letting the grandkids trim the tree when they come to celebrate a birthday next week. Now, if I could just figure out a way to rope somebody else into untrimming, wrapping, boxing, and cleaning up the whole mess afterwards.

Hmm, maybe I am a Grinch, after all.

Comments on: "Skipping Black Friday" (2)

  1. Here, let me help you. Yes, let the grandkids help next week, only keep it simple. Cut the decorating scheme in half. That will give you less to put away. As far as unisex, one size fits all gifts to have on hand, just in case, consider soy candles, cards with gift certificates in them that show money was donated to (examples: Humane Society or Cancer Research or Alzheimers or other needy charity); or how about a having on hand consumable gift cards, in the realm of $10-15, for a book store, coffee shop, chocolate shop, drug store, Staples or Office Max, or restaurant, etc. Any card you don’t give away you can use on yourself or have on hand for a future birthday, etc.

    Forget about masculine/feminine; just remember ying/yang, balance and detachment.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud