An Insider's Look at Mormon Culture

I don’t suppose many people can view The King’s Speech http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1504320/
without feeling distress at the bad
parenting attributed to King George V and Queen Mary. According to the film,
the young princes were brought to their parents for a “viewing” only once a day—and
the queen pinched her children to make them cry so she could return them to the
nanny. Royal offspring frequently prove that neither money nor nannies
substitutes for caring parents.

Parenting is a tough job. Nobody, not even royalty, should
feel obligated to produce children. Providing grandkids for our parents to
dandle on their knees is not part of the contract we signed at birth.

After careful consideration, I believe the best solution for
an overpopulated earth full of social problems is to put birth control meds in
the drinking water. Only people who pass a minimal competency test evaluating
both their sanity and their willingness to learn will be given the antidote.

Comments on: "Solution for Bad Parenting" (6)

  1. Okay, I will confess. I pinched my children to make them cry. But only in a boring Sacrament meeting.

  2. fuzzyoctopus said:

    I struggle with the difficult parts of parenting my toddler in conjunction with the overwhelming biological production to have another baby. I don’t necessarily want my tubes tied or anything, but if I could have that insane *urge* to have a baby surgically removed, I’d do it in a heartbeat.

    I think I had pretty great parents, I don’t know that I’m cut out for it, but since it’s too late I figure I have to give it my best try or the world will wind up with one more lousy adult in it in 16 years.

    • Fuzzyoctopus,

      I think anyone who gives parenting their best try qualifies as a good parent.

      Actually, I don’t think kids were meant to have perfect parents. Where’s the growth for a kid with no parent problems to deal with?

  3. Two of Three said:

    I work in an elementary school. I whole heartedly agree that there are just some folks who should not have children.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud