An Insider's Look at Mormon Culture

Revelation and Me

Last week, I received two books from Amazon, Peter Matthiessen’s The Snow Leopard and Alan Watts’ The Wisdom of Insecurity. When I went to place these books in the Buddhist section of my “to read” shelf, I discovered I already had copies. I obviously need to spend less time buying and more time reading.

Naturally, I got a late start on the Gospel Doctrine class reading assignment for last year, The New Testament. I delayed until December to open the book and am just now in Revelation.

I’m reading the New American Bible translation in the Catholic Study Bible which is much plainer than the King James Version. The explanatory notes provide scholarly analysis of the ancient texts as well as Catholic interpretations of doctrine. I like learning how people of other faiths understand our common Bible.

Sunday morning on the PBS “Religion and Ethics” program, Princeton scholar, Elaine Pagels, discussed her new book, Revelations: Visions, Prophecy and Politics in the Book of Revelation.

Pagels takes some of the mystery and much of the horror from the book by explaining its origin and role in early Christianity. The Catholic Study Bible and Elaine Pagels are good guides for a reader threading her way through the vivid, often violent imagery of John’s Revelation.

Comments on: "Revelation and Me" (2)

  1. Elaine Pagels is wonderful. I love her books. If you are so inclined, there is a wonderful iTunes University class on the New Testament taught by Dr. Dale Martin of Yale. He brings an interesting, and gay, insight to the New Testament I thought was really enjoyable. He saw Revelations as a type of passion play and does this interesting chanting bit with his class. It was a fascinating time, but long (24 hours or so of classes).

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud